School Library Media Certification by State: New Mexico

Email this to someoneShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter


New Mexico Public Education Department

Professional Licensure Bureau

300 Don Gaspar (Rm 101)

Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501-2786

Phone: 505- 827-5800

Fax:  505-827-4148

New Mexico Department of Education:

Certification Requirements

Teacher Licensure Needed:  Yes

Master’s Degree Needed: No

Praxis II Library Media Content Test Needed: No

Other Testing Needed: Yes, New Mexico Teacher Assessments (NMTA) for Basic Skills, Teacher Competency and the Content Knowledge Assessment (CKA) in Library Media.

Description: The Library Media Specialist is considered a professional teacher, with minimum professional requirements to include a Bachelor’s degree and teacher certification with a Library Media Specialist endorsement.

Evaluation Process for Licensure

The criteria for eligible individuals are:

Beginning teachers seeking an endorsement in library/media to an initial Level I New Mexico teaching license must satisfy all of the requirements of the license as provided in state board of education rule for that license, including 24-36 semester hours in library/media.

Candidates seeking to add an endorsement in library/media to an existing New Mexico teaching license of any level shall meet one of the following requirements:

  • Pass the content knowledge test(s) of the New Mexico teacher assessments if provided in NMAC, or predecessor New Mexico teacher licensure examination or accepted comparable licensure test(s) from another state, if available, in library/media;


  • Successfully complete an undergraduate academic major (24-36 semester hours), or coursework equivalent to an undergraduate major or a graduate degree in library/media;


  • Obtain certification in library/media for the appropriate grade level of New Mexico licensure from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS).

Reciprocity: New Mexico follows the Interstate Agreement with the 50 states and the District of Columbia in the National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education & Certification (NASDEC). However, one must meet the state’s requirements for teaching licensure. Further information can be found at

Email this to someoneShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter